Faculty of Arts Dean's Office and Business Units

Main faculty contact information

Mailing Address:
Faculty of Arts
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, AB, T2N 1N4
Canada

Common questions
Undergraduate course concerns? Questions about the student experience?
Need help with student account payments?
Looking for a department head or school director?
Need help from Arts IT?

Dean's Office and Staff

Office location: Social Sciences 1350
618 Campus Place NW
Phone: 403.220.6151
Fax: 403.282.8606

Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., and 1 - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory holidays: Closed

  1. Dr. Richard Sigurdson

    Dean
    403.220.6151
    sigurdso@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Kate Rollestone

    Executive Assistant to the Dean
    Manager, Office of the Dean

    403.220.2692
    kate.rollestone@ucalgary.ca

  3. Dr. Virginia Tumasz

    Vice Dean
    403.220.2272
    tumasz@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Vesna Malkanovic

    Assistant to the Vice Dean
    Committee Coordinator

    403.220.7319
    vesna.malkanovic@ucalgary.ca

Dean's Office (Faculty inquiries)
Office location: Social Sciences 1350
618 Campus Place NW
Phone: 403.220.6151
Fax: 403.282.8606

Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., and 1 - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory holidays: Closed

  1. Dr. Gavin Cameron

    Associate Dean (Internationalization and Global Initiatives)
    403.220.7060
    gcameron@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Dr. George Colpitts

    Associate Dean (Research)
    403.220.6427
    colpitts@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  3. Dr. Steig Eric Johnson

    Associate Dean (Research and Infrastructure)
    403.210.6192 / 403.220.6070
    steig.johnson@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  4. Dr. Dawn Johnston

    Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement)
    (on leave in 2021-22)

    403.220.3580 / 403.220.3199
    debjohns@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  5. Dr. Melissa Boyce

    Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)
    403.220.3580
    mboyce@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  6. Dr. Jason Wiens

    Acting Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement)
    (July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022)

    403.220.4662
    jlwiens@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

     

Dean's Office (Faculty inquiries)
Office location: Social Sciences 1350
618 Campus Place NW
Phone: 403.220.6151
Fax: 403.282.8606

Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., and 1 - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory holidays: Closed

  1. Kate Innanen

    Director, Administrative Operations
    SS 1344
    403.220.5889
    kate.innanen@ucalgary.ca

  2. Sunny Chen

    Faculty Administrator
    403.220.4398
    jianfen.chen@ucalgary.ca

  3. Erin Lowden

    Office Administrator
    eblowden@ucalgary.ca

  4. Vesna Malkanovic

    Committee Coordinator
    Assistant to the Vice Dean

    403.220.7319
    vesna.malkanovic@ucalgary.ca

  5. Dr. Kinga Olszewska

    Sr. Research Advisor
    403.220.2706
    kolszews@ucalgary.ca

  6. Kate Rollestone

    Executive Assistant to the Dean/Manager, Dean's Office
    403.220.2692
    kate.rollestone@ucalgary.ca

Human Resources

Reach out to the HR Services team supporting Arts for any HR-related employee matters for all staff groups (academic / MaPS / AUPE / PostDocs, etc.).

Direct your inquiries to artshr.academic@ucalgary.ca

  1. Kathy Sieben

    HR Partner
    403.220.8338
    ksieben@ucalgary.ca

  2. Catherine Lucas

    HR Advisor (Academic)
    403.210.6118
    cjezanne@ucalgary.ca

  3. Aimie Saito

    HR Advisor
    403.220.6228
    asaito@ucalgary.ca

  4. Anam Shaikh

    R Advisor (MaPS/AUPE)
    (on maternity leave)

Finance

Arts Finance is here to help faculty and staff ensure their initiatives are appropriately funded, and the university’s assets (including its people) are adequately protected.

Need help with student account payments? Contact student.receivables@ucalgary.ca.

  1. Shauna Selezinka

    Finance Partner
    403.220.7443
    shauna.selezinka@ucalgary.ca

  2. Jane Jia

    Finance Services Analyst
    403.220.5400
    jiaj@ucalgary.ca

Student Centres and Programs

The Arts Students' Centre is here to help undergraduate students with questions about admissions, degree programs, graduation and more.

Office location: Social Sciences 102
618 Campus Place NW
Phone: 403.220.3580
Fax: 403.210.6335
Email: ascarts@ucalgary.ca

Regular office hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday

8:30 a.m. – 12 p.m.  |  1 – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday
10:30 a.m. – 12 p.m.  |  1 – 4:30 p.m.

Program advising hours:
Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

By appointment only
9 a.m. – 12 p.m.   |   1 – 4 p.m.
Thursday
By appointment only
1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
Friday
Drop-in open
9 a.m. – 12 p.m.  |  1 – 4 p.m.

  1. Rachel Bruce

    Manager, Academic Programs
    403.220.3189
    rdey@ucalgary.ca

  2. Henrietta Clark

    Senior Undergraduate Program Specialist, Advising
    403.220.3580
    hylpoon@ucalgary.ca

  3. Sharla Mann

    Senior Undergraduate Programs Specialist, Administration
    403.220.6318
    sharla.mann@ucalgary.ca

  4. Kerry Jayson

    Academic Program Assistant
    403.220.3580

     

  5. Rachel Blake

    Program Advisor
    403.220.4831
    r.blake@ucalgary.ca

  6. Kelsey Finlay

    Program Advisor
    403.210.7211
    kelsey.finlay@ucalgary.ca

  7. Carolyn Gheseger

    Program Advisor
    403.220.3580
    cjzimmer@ucalgary.ca

  8. Nikki Mak

    Program Advisor
    403.220.3580
    ncmak@ucalgary.ca

  9. Vacant

    Program Advisor
    403.220.3580
     

  10. Justin Pyke

    Program Advisor
    403.220.5858
    jzpyke@ucalgary.ca

  11. Shelby Wolfe-Goulet

    Program Advisor
    403.220.3580
    shelby.wolfegoulet@ucalgary.ca

  12. Vaughan McMillan

    Program Advisor, Indigenous focus
    vaughan.mcmillan@ucalgary.ca

  13. Lisa (Phuong) Nguyen

    Engagement Specialist
    pnguy@ucalgary.ca

  14. Cherie Novecosky

    Receptionist
    cherie.novecosky@ucalgary.ca

The Arts Graduate Students’ Centre is here to help all Faculty of Arts graduate students. 

Regular office hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Email: artsgradsc@ucalgary.ca

  1. Greta Heathcote

    Manager, Arts Graduate Students’ Centre
    greta.heathcote@ucalgary.ca

  2. Biljana Arnautovic

    Graduate Program Advisor
    arnautov@ucalgary.ca

  3. Megan Freeman

    Graduate Program Advisor
    freemanm@ucalgary.ca

  4. Federica Gowen

    Graduate Program Advisor
    fgowen@ucalgary.ca

  5. Janelle McConnell

    Graduate Program Advisor
    jmcconne@ucalgary.ca

  6. Merrit Penny

    Graduate Program Advisor
    penny@ucalgary.ca

  7. Denise Retzlaff

    Graduate Program Advisor
    dretzlaf@ucalgary.ca

  8. Alison Schmal

    Graduate Program Advisor
    aschmal@ucalgary.ca

  9. Lori Somner

    Graduate Program Advisor
    somner@ucalgary.ca

     

Work, earn and learn with Co-Op. Undergrad students? Add the co-op education program to your degree!

  1. Amanda Foley

    Co-Operative Education Coordinator
    403.220.8636
    afoley@ucalgary.ca

  2. Tianni Song

    Co-Op Advisor
    tsong@ucalgary.ca

Advancement

The Faculty of Arts is the largest and most diverse faculty at the University of Calgary.

With more than 7,100 undergraduate students, more than 725 graduate students and 40 programs, we are a vibrant research generator.

Active thinkers and researchers, we share our knowledge to help shape the best aspects of Alberta, Canada and the world.

Our students and scholars receive an enriching and global learning experience. They become well prepared to tackle future challenges.

Join us in creating and sharing vital knowledge.

  1. Concetta Sonnenberg

    Director of Development
    Faculty of Arts/Libraries and Cultural Resources
    concetta.sonnenberg@ucalgary.ca

  2. Vacant

    Associate Director of Development
    Faculty of Arts/Libraries and Cultural Resources

  3. Alicia Crevier

    Advisor, Development and Alumni Engagement
    alicia.crevier@ucalgary.ca

  4. Shannon Katusa

    Development Coordinator
    403.220.3362
    slkatusa@ucalgary.ca

Business Operations Centre

  1. Anisha Karia-Venugopal

    Manager, Business Operations Centre

  2. John McDougall

    Senior Business Operations Administrator

  3. Hema Venkataraman

    Senior Business Operations Administrator

  4. Anna Marattil

    Business Operations Administrator

  5. TBA

    Documentation and Project Specialist

  6. Charles Topper

    Solutions Specialist

Communications and Marketing

Want to submit a story idea or get your research in the media? Need help with websites, social media, or advertising? Faculty of Arts Communications and Marketing is here to assist!

  1. Jennifer Myers

    Director, Communications and Marketing
    403.220.3453
    myers@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

  2. Alexandra Handley

    CDWP Coordinator
    403.813.3410
    alexandra.handley@ucalgary.ca
    cdwp@ucalgary.ca

  3. Tokie (Satoko) Brideaux

    Communications and Marketing Advisor
    School of Creative and Performing Arts / Department of Art and Art History
    satoko.brideaux@ucalgary.ca

  4. Heath McCoy

    Senior Communications Specialist
    403.220.5089
    hjmccoy@ucalgary.ca

  5. Nikki Reimer

    Digital Specialist
    403.220.5620 / 403.612.2846 (Mobile)
    nnreimer@ucalgary.ca

    View profile »

Information Technologies

Arts IT is here to help students, faculty and staff with their information technology needs.

Office information:
Office location: Social Sciences 1325
618 Campus Place NW
Phone: 403.220.8611

Online: ucalgary.service-now.com/it/

Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., and 1 - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory holidays: Closed

  1. Jason Reid

    Manager, Customer Technology Services
    403.220.7903
    jrreid@ucalgary.ca

  2. Barbara Von Wolzogen

    Administrative Support Arts IT
    403.220.6104
    vonwolzo@ucalgary.ca

  3. X. Ming Zhao

    Senior Technician
    Social Sciences 1321
    403.220.8611
    xm.zhao@ucalgary.ca

  4. Yvonne Ng

    Computer Support Specialist
    Social Sciences 1321
    403.220.8611

  5. Andres Caicedo

    Computer Support Specialist
    Social Sciences 1321
    403.220.8611

  6. Jon Delos Santos

    Technical Assistant
    Social Sciences 1321
    403.220.8611

  7. Santosh Gelot

    Technical Systems Analyst
    Social Sciences 1321
    403.220.8611

Department and School Operations

Kate Innanen
Director, Administrative Operations

SS 1344
403.220.5889
kate.innanen@ucalgary.ca

Art and Art History
Art Building 612
Phone: 403.220.5251
Fax: 403.289.7333
Department contacts
Department Head: Denis Gadbois
arts.ucalgary.ca/art-art-history

Creative and Performing Arts (School of)
Craigie Hall CHD 100
Phone: 403.220.5313
Fax: 403.282.6925
scpa@ucalgary.ca
School contacts
School Director: Bruce Barton
arts.ucalgary.ca/creative-performing-arts

  1. Mary Lou Mendyk

    Manager
    403.220.3238
    mmendyk@ucalgary.ca

  2. Constantina Caldis Roberts

    Academic Program Specialist
    constantina.caldisro@ucalgary.ca

  3. Stephanie Vahaaho

    Academic Program Specialist
    stephanie.vahaaho@ucalgary.ca

  4. Beth (Elizabeth) Violo

    Administrative Assistant
    elizabeth.violo@ucalgary.ca

  5. Alex Linfield

    Technician
    Art Technical Team

    alex.linfield@ucalgary.ca

  6. Steven Nunoda

    Workshop Technician
    Art Technical Team
    steven.nunoda@ucalgary.ca

  7. Anthony Reimer

    Integrated Arts Media Lab Technician
    Art Technical Team

    areimer@ucalgary.ca

    ucalgary.ca/iaml

  8. Louie Villenueva

    Photography Technician
    Art Technical Team
    lhvillan@ucalgary.ca

Anthropology and Archaeology
Earth Sciences ES 620
Phone: 403.220.6516
Fax: 403.284.5467
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Peter Dawson
arts.ucalgary.ca/anthropology-archaeology

Geography
Earth Sciences 356
Phone: 403.220.5584
Fax: 403.282.6561
geograph@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Andrea Freeman
arts.ucalgary.ca/geography

Psychology
Administration Building 255
Phone: 403.220.5561
Fax: 403.282.8249
Undergraduate: psycugrd@ucalgary.ca
Graduate: psycgrad@ucalgary.ca
Department Head: Dr. Keith Yeates
arts.ucalgary.ca/psychology

UCalgary Psychology Clinic
Phone: 403.220.7731
Fax: 403.441.3320
PsyClinic@ucalgary.ca
Clinic Director: Dr. Joshua Madsen
arts.ucalgary.ca/psychology-clinic

 

  1. Shelley Wind

    Manager
    403.220.5560
    wind@ucalgary.ca

  2. Jeannine Beck Merino

    Academic Program Specialist
    beckmerino@ucalgary.ca

  3. Monika Davidson

    Academic Program Specialist
    mdavidso@ucalgary.ca

     

  4. Michelle Vogt

    Academic Program Specialist
    msnyder@ucalgary.ca
    psycugrd@ucalgary.ca

     

  5. Vacant

    Psychology Clinic Coordinator
    403.220.3500
    PsyClinic@ucalgary.ca

  6. Vacant

    Administrative Assistant

  7. Jeremy Hogan

    Technician
    Anthropology and Archaeology Technical Team

    403.220.7305
    jhogan@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  8. Kris Russell Markin

    Technician
    Anthropology and Archaeology Technical Team

    403.220.7914
    krussell@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  9. Adam McLane

    RS/GIS Analyst
    Geography Technical Team

    403.220.6152
    ajmclane@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

  10. Daniel Odell

    Physical Geography Technician
    Geography Technical Team

    403.220.5097
    403.220.8031
    dodell@ucalgary.ca

  11. Richard Smith

    Weather Research Station Technician
    Geography Technical Team

    403.220.6065
    rmsmith@ucalgary.ca

  12. Derek Wilson

    Appl Geographic Technologist
    Geography Technical Team

    403.210.6032
    dkwilso@ucalgary.ca

    View profile

Communication, Media and Film
Social Sciences 320
Phone: 403.220.6207
Fax: 403.210.8138
General: ccapmail@ucalgary.ca
Graduate program: gradprog@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Charles Tepperman
arts.ucalgary.ca/communication-media-film

English
Social Sciences 1152
Phone: 403.220.5470
Fax: 403.289.1123
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Jacqueline Jenkins
arts.ucalgary.ca/english

Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures (School of)
Craigie Hall D 310
Phone: 403.220.5300 / 403.220.5293
Fax: 403.282.6925
Undergraduate: slllc@ucalgary.ca
Linguistics graduate: linggrad@ucalgary.ca
Languages, Literatures and Cultures graduate: llac@ucalgary.ca
School contacts
School Director: Dr. Mark Conliffe
arts.ucalgary.ca/languages-linguistics-literatures-cultures

  1. Katherine Guevara

    Manager
    403.220.4002
    kguevara@ucalgary.ca

  2. Kristine Ennis

    Academic Program Specialist
    kmennis@ucalgary.ca

  3. Rebecca Lesser

    Academic Program Specialist
    rebecca.lesser@ucalgary.ca

  4. Karen Preddy

    Academic Program Specialist
    karen.preddy@ucalgary.ca

  5. Micheline Lee

    Program Coordinator, French Centre
    michlee@ucalgary.ca

  6. Mariana Raffo

    Administrative Assistant
    mariana.raffo@ucalgary.ca

Economics
Social Sciences 454
Phone: 403.220.5857
Fax: 403.282.5262
econ@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Robert Oxoby
arts.ucalgary.ca/economics

Political Science
Social Sciences 756
Phone: 403.220.5920
Fax: 403.282.4773
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Antonio Franceschet
arts.ucalgary.ca/political-science

Sociology
Social Sciences 956
Phone: 403.220.6502
Fax: 403.282.9298
Undergraduate Sociology: sociundergrad@ucalgary.ca
Undergraduate Law and Society: ejmccoy@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Fiona Nelson
arts.ucalgary.ca/sociology

  1. Kate Williams

    Manager
    403.220.6500
    kwillia@ucalgary.ca

  2. Katheryn Andersen

    Academic Program Specialist
    keander@ucalgary.ca

  3. Mika (Gurmika) Mann

    Academic Program Specialist
    gurmika.mann@ucalgary.ca

  4. Bonnie Walter

    Academic Program Specialist
    bwalter@ucalgary.ca

  5. Joann Weston

    Administrative Assistant
    jweston@ucalgary.ca

  6. Hoai Dang

    Administrative Assistant (Indigenous Focus)
    hoai.dang1@ucalgary.ca

Classics and Religion
Social Sciences 558
Phone: 403.220.5886
Fax: 403.220.9581
clare@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Marica Cassis
arts.ucalgary.ca/classics-religion

History
Social Sciences 656
Phone: 403.220.6401
Fax: 403.289.8566
histdept@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Jewel Spanger
arts.ucalgary.ca/history

Philosophy
Social Sciences 1256
Phone: 403.220.5531
Fax: 403.289.5698
phildept@ucalgary.ca
Department contacts
Department Head: Dr. Nicole Wyatt
arts.ucalgary.ca/philosophy

  1. Miranda Dallalba

    Manager, Department Operations
    miranda.dallalba@ucalgary.ca
     

  2. Courtenay Canivet

    Academic Program Specialist
    clcanive@ucalgary.ca

  3. Sarah Stevenson

    Academic Program Specialist
    sajsteve@ucalgary.ca

  4. Brigitte Clarke

    Administrative Assistant
    btclarke@ucalgary.ca

Research with connections to the Faculty of Arts

Room 293, Heritage Medical Research Building
3330 Hospital Dr. NW
Phone: 403.220.6898
Fax: 403.210.9685
research4kids@ucalgary.ca
Institute contacts

research4kids.ucalgary.ca

Health Research Innovation Centre
Room 1A10
3330 Hospital Drive NW
Phone: 403.220.3558
Fax: 403.210.9382
Email: hbi@ucalgary.ca
Institute contacts

hbi.ucalgary.ca

420, 715 – 5th Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
Phone: 587.430.0291
info@vanhorneinstitute.com
Institute contacts

vanhorne.info