PhD in English Literature, Dr. Anthony Camara is seen through the stacks of books in the library

Department contacts

Department of English

Location

Social Sciences Building
Room SS 1152

Mailing address

Department of English
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary AB T2N 1N4
Canada

Access campus maps

Office hours

Monday – Thursday:
8:30am – 12pm
1pm – 4:30pm

Staff working remotely on Fridays May 30 - August 19, 2022

Statutory holidays: 
Closed

Email

General: engl@ucalgary.ca

Graduate program: artsgradsc@ucalgary.ca

Phone

Phone: 403.220.5300
Fax: 403.289.1123

Department Head and Directors


Hendrik Kraay

Interim Department Head
403.220.6410
kraay@ucalgary.ca

Suzette Mayr

Creative Writing Coordinator 
403.220.5482
smayr@ucalgary.ca

 

David Sigler

Associate Head (Undergraduate Student Affairs)
403.220.6573
dsigler@ucalgary.ca

Stefania Forlini

Associate Head (Graduate Program)
403.220.5483
sforlini@ucalgary.ca

Administrative Staff


Wanda Watson-Neufeld

Manager, Department Operations
403.220.4117
wanda.watsonneufeld@ucalgary.ca

Ada Peddlesden

Administrative Assistant
403.220.5300
ada.peddlesden@ucalgary.ca 

Micheline Lee

Program Coordinator, French Centre
403.220.7226
michlee@ucalgary.ca

Academic Program Specialists


Kristine Ennis

Communication, Media and Film
403.220.3249
kmennis@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Angyue Liu

Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures
angliu@ucalgary.ca

Current Faculty


Pamela Banting

Associate Professor
403.220.5480
pbanting@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Bart H Beaty

Professor
403.220.7246
beaty@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Karen Bourrier

Associate Professor
403.220.4660
karen.bourrier@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Anthony Camara

Associate Professor
403.220.4683
anthony.camara@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Michael Tavel Clarke

Associate Professor
403.220.4677
mcla@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Rich Cole

Sessional Instructor
rich.cole@ucalgary.ca

Laura Katherine Davis

Adjunct Instructor
davisl@ucalgary.ca

Jim Ellis

Professor
403.220.4359
jellis@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Stefania Forlini

Associate Professor
403.220.5483
sforlini@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Louise Forsyth

Adjunct Professor
lforsyth@ucalgary.ca

Rebecca Danielle Geleyn

Sessional Instructor
rgeleyn@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Faye Halpern

Associate Professor
403.220.4436
fhalpern@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Kirsten Anne Inglis

Sessional Instructor
403.220.5475
kainglis@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jacqueline Jenkins

Professor
403.220.5476
jenkinsj@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Clara Joseph

Professor
403.220.4232
cjoseph@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Hendrik Kraay

Interim Department Head
403.220.6410
kraay@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Eden Lee Lackner

Sessional Instructor
eden.lackner@ucalgary.ca

Larissa Lai

Professor
403.220.6431
larissa.lai@ucalgary.ca

Derritt B Mason

Educational Leaders in Residence, Associate Professor
403.220.3395
derritt.mason@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Suzette Mayr

Professor
403.220.5482
smayr@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jenny McKenney

Senior Instructor
403.220.6371
mckennej@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Christian WH Olbey

Instructor
403.220.8176
cwolbey@ucalgary.ca

L. Rain Alicia Prud'homme-Cranford

Associate Professor
403.220.4664
lrain.prudhommecranf@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Elias Schwieler

Sessional Instructor
403.220.6196
elias.schwieler@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Vivek Shraya

Associate Professor
403.220.3002
vivek.shraya@ucalgary.ca

View profile

David Sigler

Associate Professor
403.220.6573
dsigler@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Aruna Srivastava

Associate Professor
403.220.4663
asrivast@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Rebecca Sullivan

Professor
403.220.3397
rsulliva@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Michael Ullyot

Associate Professor
403.220.4656
ullyot@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Uchechukwu Umezurike

Assistant Professor
uchechukwu.umezurike@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Aritha Van Herk

Professor
403.220.5481
vanherk@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Morgan Vanek

Assistant Professor
403.220.4666
morgan.vanek@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Joshua Whitehead

Assistant Professor
403.220.6196
joshua.whitehead@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jason Wiens

Teaching Professor
403.220.6572
jlwiens@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jonathon Wilcke

Sessional Instructor
jonathon.wilcke@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Shaobo Xie

Professor
403.220.5478
sxie@ucalgary.ca

Katherine E Zelinsky

Sessional Instructor
403.220.4682
zelinsky@ucalgary.ca

Maria C. Zytaruk

Associate Professor


Professors Emeriti


Frances Batycki

Instructor Emerita

Barbara Belyea

Professor Emerita

View profile

Susan Bennett

Professor Emerita

Ronald Bond

Professor Emeritus

Helen Margaret Buss

Professor Emerita

Donna Coates

Associate Professor Emerita

Richard Davis

Professor Emeritus

Josephine Evetts-Secker

Associate Professor Emerita

Stanley Freiberg

Associate Professor Emeritus

Margaret Hadley

Instructor Emerita

Adrienne Ester Kertzer

Professor Emerita

View profile

Jonathan Kertzer

Professor Emeritus

View profile

Inder Nath Kher

Professor Emeritus

John Sayre Martin

Associate Professor Emeritus

John Stephen Martin

Professor Emeritus

Pamela McCallum

Professor Emerita

View profile

Roderick McGillis

Professor Emeritus

Murray McGillivray

Professor Emeritus

View profile

Catherine McLay

Associate Professor Emerita

Anne McWhir

Professor Emerita

David Oakleaf

Professor Emeritus

Roger Peattie

Professor Emeritus

Jeanne Perreault

Professor Emerita

Mary Polito

Associate Professor Emerita

Ruby Ramraj

Instructor Emerita

Susan Rudy

Professor Emerita

View profile

Patricia Thomas Srebrnik

Associate Professor Emerita

Susan Stratton

Professor Emerita

Janis Ernest Svilpis

Associate Professor Emeritus

Harry Vandervlist

Associate Professor Emeritus

Frederick James Wah

Professor Emeritus

View profile

Tom Wayman

Associate Professor Emeritus

Christopher Wiseman

Professor Emeritus

Maurice Yacowar

Professor Emeritus


Graduate Students


Mahmoud Ababneh

Doctoral Student
403.220.2137
mahmoud.ababneh@ucalgary.ca

Hannah Anderson

Doctoral Student
403.220.8928
hannah.anderson@ucalgary.ca

Stephen Bauhart

Doctoral Student
403.220.6196
stephen.bauhart@ucalgary.ca

Jeremy Blunt

Doctoral Student
403.220.6196
jeremy.blunt1@ucalgary.ca

Benjamin Blyth

Doctoral Student
403.220.8329
benjamin.blyth@ucalgary.ca

Christopher Brown

Doctoral Student
403.220.2137
christopher.brown1@ucalgary.ca

Kathleen Brown

Doctoral Student
browk@ucalgary.ca

Jaclyn Carter

Doctoral Student
403.220.8656
jaclyn.carter@ucalgary.ca

Benjamin Groh

Doctoral Student
403.220.8329
benjamin.groh@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Evan Gromel

Doctoral Student
403.220.4656
evan.gromel@ucalgary.ca

Dania Idriss

Doctoral Student
403.220.4676
didriss@ucalgary.ca

Amy LeBlanc

Doctoral Student
403.220.8928
ajleblan@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Marc Herman Lynch

Doctoral Student
mhlynch@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Paul Meunier

Doctoral Student
403.220.8329
pnmeunie@ucalgary.ca

Patrick Powers

Doctoral Student
403.220.4676
patrick.powers@ucalgary.ca

Kaitlyn Purcell

Doctoral Student
403.220.8656
kaitlyn.purcell@ucalgary.ca

Omar Ramadan

Doctoral Student
omar.ramadan1@ucalgary.ca

Shazia Hafiz Ramji

Doctoral Student
shaziahafiz.ramji@ucalgary.ca

Jon Rozhon

Doctoral Student
403.220.8329
jon.rozhon@ucalgary.ca

Tom Sewel

Doctoral Student
403.220.6196
tom.sewel@ucalgary.ca

Tathagata Som

Doctoral Student
403.220.6196
tathagata.som@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Christopher Stearne

Doctoral Student
crstearn@ucalgary.ca

Hebe Tocci Marin

Doctoral Student
403.220.8329
hebe.toccimarin@ucalgary.ca

Leah Van Dyk

Doctoral Student
403.220.4676
leah.vandyk@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Shuyin Yu

Doctoral Student
403.220.8656
shuyin.yu1@ucalgary.ca

View profile

Jake Bews

Master's Student
jake.bews@ucalgary.ca

Kyle Flemmer

Master's Student
kyle.flemmer@ucalgary.ca

Maryam Gowralli

Master's Student
maryam.gowralli@ucalgary.ca

Isabella Lau

Master's Student
isabella.lau1@ucalgary.ca

Elysha Snider

Master's Student
elysha.snider@ucalgary.ca

Christopher Stearne

Master's Student
crstearn@ucalgary.ca

Asawari Tripathi

Master's Student
403.220.8329
asawari.tripathi@ucalgary.ca