University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Graduates honoured at medal awards reception

SS medal winners Jun 2010.JPG

Eleven graduating students from the Faculty of Social Sciences were awarded Silver Medals for top academic achievement in their departments. Tyson Kennedy, Amanda Potter and Kim Tan-McNeil were also recognized for the highest distinction in scholarship from the faculty. The Students received their recognitions at a reception following the June 9 Social Sciences convocation ceremony.

Congratulations to the medal winners:

Faculty of Social Sciences Gold Medal awarded to Tyson Kennedy, Political Science and Amanda Potter, Economics.

The Gold Medal was awarded to the two graduating students in the Faculty of Social Sciences who have shown the highest distinction in scholarship.

Governor General's Medal awarded to Tyson Kennedy, Political Science, minor in Economics.

The Governor General’s Medal is awarded to two students graduating from any undergraduate faculty who have shown the highest distinction in scholarship. Only students receiving their first degree are eligible for these awards.

Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medal awarded to Kim Tan-MacNeill, English with Creative Writing concentration (with distinction) and Honours Degree in Psychology (1st class Honours)

The Lieutenant Governor's Gold Medal is awarded to the graduating student in an honours program in the Faculty of Communication and Culture, Humanities, Science or Social Sciences who has shown the highest distinction in scholarship.

Silver Medal Winners:

Department of Anthropology Silver Medallion awarded to Samantha Dickinson

Department of Archaeology Silver Medallion awarded to Itxel Castro-Soto

Economics Society of Calgary Medal in Economics awarded to Aaron Tomandl

Department of Geography Silver Medallion awarded to Graham Pendray

Silver Medallion in International Relations awarded to Nicole Lindquist

Department of Linguistics Silver Medallion awarded to Kimberley Kissack

Department of Political Science Silver Medallion awarded to Tyson Kennedy

Department of Psychology Silver Medallion awarded to Kim Tan-McNeill

Silver Medallion in Urban Studies awarded to Trista York