Chinese Proficency Test


The Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK) is an international standardized exam that tests and rates Chinese language proficiency. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using the Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives.

HSK consists of six levels, namely the HSK (level I), HSK (level II), HSK (level III), HSK (level IV), HSK (level V), and HSK (level VI).

The new HSK test was launched in an effort to better serve Chinese language learners. The test is the result of coordinated efforts by domestic and foreign experts from different disciplines including Chinese language teaching, linguistics, psychology and educational measurement. The new exam combines the advantages of the original HSK while taking into consideration recent trends in Chinese language training by conducting surveys and making use of the latest findings in international language testing.

HSK Application Deadlines and Fees

Next Testing Date: June 5, 2021
Registration Deadline:  May 25, 2021

Level 1:  $20.00

Level 2:  $30.00

Level 3:  $40.00

Level 4:  $50.00

Level 5:  $60.00

Level 6:  $70.00

Payment methods include certified bank cheque/bank draft, money order and personal cheque, payable to the University of Calgary. CASH WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

The payment must be received before the registration deadline.

The HSK test fee is refundable in full before the registration deadline. No refunds will be issued after the registration deadline.

Send the registration fee to:
HSK Test Centre at the University of Calgary
School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures - University of Calgary
2500 University Drive N.W.
Calgary, Alberta
T2N 1N4

Application instructions

  • Click the link below to begin
  • Read the information and follow the steps to fill out the form, providing as much information as possible
  • If you have any questions, concerns please contact
  • If you have any technical difficulties completing the online application, please contact

Please note that on the day of the test you will need the following:

  • Valid photo ID
  • Admission card

HSK Schedule: June 5, 2021

Level 1: 9:00 am

Level 2: 1:30 pm

Level 3: 1:30 pm

Level 4: 9:00 am

Level 5: 1:30 pm

Level 6: 9:00 am