Oct. 2, 2019

Greeting our new recruits

Annual New Faculty Welcome Event to be held Tuesday, October 8
2019 New Faculty Welcome
New Faculty Welcome Photo by Riley Brandt

At the beginning of each academic year the Faculty of Arts formally welcomes its newest faculty members with a ceremony and cocktail reception. This year’s event will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 8th at 3 p.m. with a reception at MacEwan Ballroom. 

Here is a complete list of the 14 new faculty members who will be introduced (RSVP to attend the event):


Anthropology and Archaeology 

  • Lindsay Amundsen 

Classics and Religion 

  • Marica Cassis 
  • Craig Maynes 

Communications, Media and Film 

  • Victoria Guglieti 


  • Sharanpal Ruprai (Calgary Distinguished Writers Program: 2019-20120 Writer-in-Residence) 


  • Tricia Stadnyk 


  • Courtnay Konshuh 

Political Science

  • J.C. Boucher 


  • Derya Sargin 


  • Dawn Rault 
  • Nestar Russell 

School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures 

  • Angeliki Athanasopoulou  
  • Mung Ting Chung  
  • John Scott