Departments and Schools

The Faculty of Arts is a large, dynamic and growing faculty within one of Canada’s most innovative, bold and ambitious universities. Our faculty is home to internationally acclaimed researchers from the humanities, social sciences and fine arts, as well as many emergent multidisciplinary fields.

Explore our academic units

Anthropology and Archaeology >>

Department Head: Dr. Peter Dawson
Department contacts  >>

Art and Art History >>

Department Head: Denis Gadbois
Department contacts >>

Classics and Religion  >>

Department Head: Dr. Marica Cassis
Department contacts >>

Communication, Media and Film  >>

Department Head: Dr. Charles Tepperman
Department contacts  >>


Creative and Performing Arts (School of) >>

School Director: Bruce Barton
School contacts >>

Economics >>

Department Head: Dr. Robert Oxoby
Department contacts >>


English >>

Department Head: Dr. Jacqueline Jenkins
Department contacts >>


Geography >>

Department Head: Dr. Andrea Freeman
Department contacts >>

History >>

Department Head: Dr. Jewel Spanger
Department contacts >>

Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures (School of) >>

School Director: Dr. Mark Conliffe
School contacts >>

Philosophy >>

Department Head: Dr. Nicole Wyatt
Department contacts >>

Political Science >>

Department Head: Dr. Antonio Franceschet
Department contacts >>

Psychology >>

Department Head: Dr. Keith Yeates
Department contacts >>

Sociology >>

Department Head: Dr. Fiona Nelson
Department contacts >>